IPL Statistics Latest Updates 2020

Spread the love

Organised by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI),The Indian Premier League is a Twenty20 (T20) competition in men’s cricket. The tournament was first held in 2008 and has taken place every year since then. During every year several teams went in and out of the tournament, while many teams changed their team name. The competition follows the format of Round Robin where each team plays with each other team twice, where each match will be conducted in either of the team’s home ground.

Since its beginning in 2008,Virat Kohli Indian batsman holds the record for the most runs made in the IPL. Chris Gayle conquered the flecked for gaining highest-individual score in a match with 175 runs off 66 balls and 128 off 62 balls,  the highest amount of overall 6’s in the league and also the highest number of 6’s in a match, fastest century, fastest fifty, highest amount of runs in a series as well as the most 100’s and the highest Man of the Match awards.


The highest number of wickets taken by Lasith Malinga. the Wicket-keeping records  are earned by MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik and Robin Uthappa dominate, all 3 being among the top 5 players of most stumps and most catches. The most overall catches by any fielder is 102 catches by the batsman Suresh Raina.

With an astounding score of 263–5Royal Challengers Bangalore won the match in 2013 against Pune Warriors India. Gayle hits the record score for a match in IPL during the same match and also the record for the highest number of 6’s in an innings.

This is also the second highest innings total by any team in a T20 match. The second record is also set by RCB against Gujarat Lions, having scored 248–5. CSK set the record 246-5 and 240-5 while KKR scoring 245–6 in a match against Kings XI Punjab in 2018.

 IPL Batting Stats

Most Runs

Under the Captaincy of Virat Kohlithe Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) has The record for most IPL runs with 5412 runs in 177 matches and is just 44 runs ahead of the Chennai Super Kings batsman Suresh Raina.

Best Individual Score

Jamaican cricketer Chris Gayle scored 175 not out against Pune Warriors India in 2013. The highest individual score in T20 cricket is also the best individual score in IPL history.

Best Batting Averages

The best batting average of 55.62 in the IPL is taken by Jonny Bairstow. He has played 10 matches for Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and scored 445 runs. . For batsmen with minimum 1000 runs or 50 matches, his opening partner David Warner has the best batting average of 43.17 scoring 4706 runs in 126 matches.

Most Wickets

Lasith Malinga, who is known as IPL legend has picked 170 wickets for the Mumbai Indians in 122 matches. When it comes to the bowling section he leads the IPL stats.

Most 5-wicket Hauls

JaydevUnadkat (one for Rising Pune Supergiant and one for RCB) and James Faulkner (both for Rajasthan Royals) have taken two five-wicket hauls each.

Best Economies

Better than any other bowler in the history of IPL, Bowling all-rounder from SUNRISERS Hyderabad Rashid Khan, has an economy of 6.55.


The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a Twenty20 cricket competition based in India. At the end of each season the tournament honours players with several awards. They are Orange Cap, Purple Cap, Maximum Sixes Award, Most Valuable Player and Emerging Player of the Year.

The leading run-scorer in the IPL season will be awarded annually by the IPL Orange Cap , and it started during the first season of the tournament in 2008.

 In the inaugural season of the Indian Premier League Australian batsman Shaun Marsh was the first player to win the award with 616 runs in 11 matches which was the most runs scoredand in 2009 edition Matthew Hayden took the award.

Sachin Tendulkar,Indian batting icon won the award in 2010, a season in which he led the Mumbai Indians.

Most times in the IPL ,David Warner (2015, 2017 and 2019) has donned the Orange cap, followed by Chris Gayle (2011 and 2012).

India skipper ViratKohli had bagged the award after an incredible run with the bat in 2016.He holds the record of most runs in the IPL season with 973 in 2016 and got his name in the Orange Cap winners list.

Kane Williamson had won the esteemed award in the 2018 season, enjoying a consistent run with the bat while handling captaincy duties for the Sunrisers.

Rules for IPL Orange Cap

The award is given to the leading run-scorer of the IPL season.

The batsman with the most runs in the tournament during the season would wear the Orange Cap while in the field.

In case of a tie, the batsman with a better strike rate is awarded the Orange Cap.

The Orange Cap owner who is fielding is allowed to wear the Orange Cap till the end of the innings even if an opposition batsman has overtaken his runs.


The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a Twenty20 cricket competition based in India. At the end of each season the tournament honours players with several awards. They are Orange Cap, Purple Cap, Maximum Sixes Award, Most Valuable Player and Emerging Player of the Year.

The leading wicket-taker in the IPLis presented by The Purple Cap . The IPL announced the introduction of the Purple Cap on 13 May 2008.

In the inaugural edition of the league in 2008 Pakistan left-arm pacer Sohail Tanvir had won the award by taking 22 wickets in 11 matches.The award went to RP Singh (2009) and Pragyan Ojha (2010) too.

For the only time in 2011, Sri Lanka pacer Lasith Malinga, the league’s all-time leading wicket-takerwon the Purple Cap.

Chennai Super Kings’ Dwayne Bravo (2013 and 2015) and Sunrisers Hyderabad’s Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2016 and 2017)  have also won the Purple Cap.

In IPL 2018,Kings XI Punjab’s Andrew Tye had bagged the award


The Indian Premier League has a way of cherishing the teams who play in the right spirit of the game.A special award where team with the maximum number of points gets the Fair Play Award at the end of the season.

Based on the points given by Umpires the winner team is decided. The judgement is based on the points given by two on-field umpires and the third umpire,A total of 10 points can be awarded to each team. The distribution of points is as follows.

4 points are given on the basis of how the team has adhered to the “spirit of the game”. 

There are 3 more criteria that carry 2 points each, based on the respect for the opposition, the laws of cricket and the umpires.

If a team has got two points in the criterion, its performance is considered as “good

Getting one or zero points indicates that its performance is “average” or “bad” respectively.

Under the captaincy of MS Dhoni the team has won the award for 6 times in their 10 appearances as CSK was suspended for the editions of 2016 and 2017.

Kings XI Punjab, Rajasthan Royals, Sunrisers Hyderabad (2), Gujarat Lions and Mumbai Indians also hold the award in the 12 years of the league.

List of Fair play award Winners

Year of Tournament Winners Team
2008 Chennai Super Kings
2009 Kings XI Punjab
2010 Chennai Super Kings
2011 Chennai Super Kings
2012 Rajasthan Royals
2013 Chennai Super Kings
2014 Chennai Super Kings
2015 Chennai Super Kings
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad
2017 Gujarat Lions
2018 Mumbai Indians

Sunrisers Hyderabad


Spread the love